Post Date:
29 March 2019

On March 15th the awarding ceremony of the winners of the annual poetry and literary translation competition Alter Ego was held.  The competition was organized by the SSU Department of Germanic Philology for the seventh time (responsible was the assistant professor, candidate of Philological Sciences Olena Yemelianova), and student conference on the results of teaching practice (responsible was senior lecturer of Department of Germanic Philology Antonina Chepeliuk).

Winners of the Alter Ego competition were decided in 4 nominations, namely: poems in Ukrainian, literary translations from English and German, poems in English or German. It should be noted that this year more than 240 works by authors, students of universities and schools from all over Ukraine from Subcarpathia to Slobozhanshchina have been sent for the competition.

The jury traditionally included Iryna Kobyakova (PhD in Philological Sciences, Professor, head of the jury), Svitlana Shvachko (Doctor of Philology Sciences, Professor of the Department of Germanic Philology), Nataliia Tatsenko (PhD in Philological Sciences, Associate professor) and other representatives of the Department of the Germanic Philology. The authors of the award-winning poems were established through the results of their works’ evaluation.

In particular:

Nomination “Poems in Ukrainian”:

I place is Iryna Sipko (Sumy State University);

II place is Yuliia Lazutkina (Sumy State University);

ІІІ place is Artur Dron (Ivan Franko National University of Lviv).


Nomination “Translations from English”:

I place is Daniil Khabarov (Berdyansk State Pedagogical University);

ІІ place is Kseniia Slominska (Kherson State University);

III place is Anastasiia Yehorova (Sumy State University);


Nomination “Translations from German”:

I place is Daniil Khabarov (Berdyansk State Pedagogical University);

II place is Sofiia Myklashchuk (Verbovets Secondary School of I-III stages);

III place is Olha Diachenko (Kherson State University).


Nomination “Poem in English / German”:

I place is Yuliia Lazutkina (Sumy State University);

ІІ place is Mariia-Roksolana Chymboran (Vasyl Stafanyk Precarpathian National University);

ІІІ place is Oleksandra Deineha (Zaporizhzhia National University).


Greetings to the winners and guests of the ceremony were addressed by a senior lecturer in the Department of Journalism and Philology, a member of the National Union of Writers of Ukraine Vasyl Chubur. The winners received certificates and gifts, and presented their poems sincerely and touchingly!