The Jean Monnet program is one of the European Union educational programs to raise the level of knowledge and awareness among students and society on economic, historical, cultural and legal issues of European integration. Jean Monet is a French economist and politician. For his efforts in Europe, he got the nickname "Father of the United Europe". Jean Monet created and headed the "The Action Committee for the United States of Europe" that operated in 1955-1975. As one of European ideologists, he told: "Europe has never existed. Europe needs to be created".

According to Erasmus+ activities, the Jean Monnet objective is to intensify European integration and its research, to attract higher education institutions to European integration processes, to spread the United Europe ideas.

Within the Jean Monnet framework, the European Union funds higher education institutions, non-governmental organizations and associations to teach European integration disciplines, to research respective issues and to discuss them during events (summer schools, seminars, conferences, etc).

Ukrainian universities have been participating in the Jean Monnet program since 2001. Teaching and researching in such implementation forms as "Chairs", "Modules" and "Centers of Excellence" are the most popular in Ukraine among higher education institutions. Jean Monet Modules are aimed at developing and teaching courses on the EU and European integration processes. Jean Monet Chairs develop new and upgrade existing courses on European integration (corresponding lectures are delivered). Jean Monnet Chair grant holders become Jean Monet Professors. Centers of Excellence support educational univesity units with analytical centers and associations to encourage them in conducting interdisciplinary research on European integration.

Within the Jean Monnet program, department members received the following grants:

The Jean Monnet Module "Fostering EU practices of education for sustainable development through the brand language: interdisciplinary studies" (ESDbrandEU) 101085708 – ERASMUS-JMO-2022-HEI-TCH-RSCH


Department of Germanic Philology

2, Rymskogo-Korsakova st., Sumy, 40007 Ukraine 
Building of the Electro-Technical Department, Room 422
Tel.: +380 (542) 33-70-35.

E-mail: [email protected]

At use of materials the reference
to a site is obligatory.

All rights reserved by